Hotels in Japan
Popular Places
Best of Japan
Special Interests
Food in Japan
Travel Tips
General Info
Weather Check
Currency Converter
Time Zone Converter
Language Translator
Stock Index
About Us
Contact Us
Join us
Reservation Terms
Site Map

Best of Japan
Architecture l Gardens l Ikebana l Religion l Tea Ceremony


Rikka ('standing' flowers), nageire ('throwing-in'), shokai ('living' flowers) and moribana ('heaped' flowers) are the different types of flower arrangements found in the Land of the Rising Sun. The art of flower arrangement was developed in the 15th Century and is known as Ikebana. Flowers are arranged to represent heaven, earth and humanity.

Ikebana was originally designed for tea ceremonies. It has since evolved into an art used by private homes where it is placed in the tokonoma (alcove) for display. Certain large hotels and establishments even incorporate Ikebana in their designs.

This craft is a lucrative business venture especially with schools, which receive large intakes. Other than its cultural implications, proficiency in Ikebana implies better chances for young women to improve their marriage prospects. There are currently many schools available, with the top three being Ikenobo, Ohara, and Sogetsu.

Top of Page



Home l Places of Interest l Outdoor Travel l Food in Asia l General Info l Entertainment
Shopping Asia l Special Attractions


Australia l Bali l Brunei l China l Hong Kong l Japan l Korea l Macau l Malaysia l Myanmar l New Zealand
Philippines l Singapore l Taiwan l Thailand

Copyright © by Hotnet Sdn.Bhd. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
Copyright and Disclaimer l Privacy Policy