Hotel in Hsinchu
Hotel in Hualien
Hotel in Kaohsiung
Hotel in Keelung
Hotel in Kenting
Hotel in Sun Moon Lake
Hotel in Taichung
Hotel in Tainan
Hotel in Taipei
Hotel in Taitung
Hotel in Taoyuan
Hotels in Taiwan
Popular Places
Best of Taiwan
Special Interests
Food in Taiwan
Events & Festivals
Travel Tips
General Info
Weather Check
Currency Converter
Time Zone Converter
Language Translator
Stock Index
About Us
Contact Us
Join us
Reservation Terms
Site Map

General Info
Economy l Geography l Government l History l People l Religion


The Republic of China was founded in 1912, and was Asia's first constitutional republic. Under the able leadership of Dr. Sun Yat Sen in the early 20th Century, Taiwan's governing system is made 'of the people, by the people, and for the people'. The president, being the head of state, manages the five branches of the central government called 'Yuan'. They are the Executive Yuan, Legislative Yuan, Judicial Yuan, Examination Yuan, and the Control Yuan.

Executive Yuan - includes ministries, and other offices and departments.

Legislative Yuan - law-making body.

Judicial Yuan - Courts, Council of Grand Justices, other bodies that uphold and interpret the law.

Examination Yuan - supervises examinations and personnel.

Control Yuan - has powers of consent, impeachment, and audit.

Besides the ROC government, the Taiwan Provincial Government and various counties, cities, and ethnic minority groups have elected their own representatives to express their opinions and issues over daily matters and decision making. Taiwan's current leader is Lee Teng-hui.

Top of Page



Home l Places of Interest l Outdoor Travel l Food in Asia l General Info l Entertainment
Shopping Asia l Special Attractions


Australia l Bali l Brunei l China l Hong Kong l Japan l Korea l Macau l Malaysia l Myanmar l New Zealand
Philippines l Singapore l Taiwan l Thailand

Copyright © by Hotnet Sdn.Bhd. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
Copyright and Disclaimer l Privacy Policy